About US

     Sisters in Crime (SinC) is an international organization founded in 1986 to promote the professional development and advancement of women writing crime fiction. Today, SinC is made up of more than 3,000 members in 50+ chapters worldwide — authors, readers, publishers, agents, booksellers, librarians, and others who love mysteries.

     The Los Angeles Chapter (SinC/LA) was founded in 1988 and is one of the largest chapters. Membership is available to everyone who loves the written word, especially those with an interest in crime, mystery and suspense writing. SinC/LA is a non-profit organization. We rely on membership to further our goals to educate, nurture and support our members, including both published and aspiring authors. The larger we grow, the better able we are to provide services and outreach for our members. Whether you are published, pre-published or you just love a good mystery, we encourage you to share your passion with the like-minded men and women of SinC/LA. We would love to welcome you to our family!

     The Los Angeles chapter has monthly meetings with fascinating speakers, puts on a biennial Crime Writers Conference in collaboration with the local chapter of MWA, publishes an Anthology of members’ short stories selected in a blind competition, helps promote our members’ work, offers educational programs on craft and the business of writing, and has recently launched a book club and organized critique groups.

Our Board

Our Code of Conduct