MYSTERY IN THE MIDLANDS
A Virtual Event Featuring 10 Fabulous Authors
Saturday, July 16, 2022
Cost $8
starting at 7:30 a.m. PST (see below for more details)
Presented by the
Palmetto Chapter of Sisters in Crime and Southeastern Chapter of Mystery Writers of America

For the third year, we’re holding our Mystery in the Midlands as a virtual event on Saturday, July 16, 2022. The event, jointly sponsored by the Southeast Chapter of Mystery Writers of America and the Palmetto Chapter of Sisters in Crime, features 10 award-winning authors. Registrants may watch the broadcast or view the recording later (or both). All for the cost of an electronic or paperback book: $8.

Our goal was to provide an affordable conference for all those who either could not afford to attend more expensive in-person events or who may hesitate to go to large gatherings while Covid and its variants are still with us. We want to facilitate readers and writers getting to hear from great writers about their work.

Question: Where do you have the opportunity to spend 4 and ½ hours with award- winning mystery and suspense novelists all for the cost of a single e-book or paperback?

Answer: Mystery in the Midlands (hosted by Palmetto Chapter of Sisters in Crime and Southeastern Chapter of Mystery Writers of America), which began as a mid-summer conference in “Famously Hot” Columbia, S.C. For the third year, this is a virtual event through Crowdcast.

Link to register: https://www.crowdcast.io/e/mystery-in-the-midlands-3/register

If you are not able to attend virtually on the day of the event, by registering, you can access the recorded panels at your leisure.

Here’s the schedule:

Raise the Temperature with a Warm Welcome
10:30-10:45 am ET/9:30-9:45 am CT/8:30-8:45 am MT/7:30-7:45 am PT
Dana Kaye, Lynn C. Willis President of SEMWA, and Carla Damron President of Palmetto Chapter SinC

Shorts that Pack Heat
11:00-11:45 am ET/10:00-10:45 am CT/9:00-9:45 am MT/8:00-8:45 am PT
Alan Orloff, Shawn Reilly Simmons, and Joseph S. Walker

Sizzling Keynote
12:00-12:45 pm ET/11:00-11:45 am CT/10:00-10:45 am MT/9:00-9:45 am PT
David Heska Wanbli Weiden interviewed by Hank Phillippi Ryan

Served Piping Hot: Cozies with Recipes
1:00-1:45 pm ET/12:00-12:45 pm CT/11:00-11:45 am MT/10:00-10:45 am PT
Daryl Wood Gerber, Raquel V. Reyes, and Abby L. Vandiver

Sweltering Settings and Suspense
2:00-2:45 pm ET/1:00-1:45 pm CT/12:00-12:45 pm MT/11:00-11:45 am PT
Hallie Ephron, John Hart, and Hank Phillippi Ryan

Final Comments Before Cooling Off in the Pool
3:00-3:15 pm ET/2:00-2:15 pm CT/1:00-1:15 pm MT/12:00-12:15 pm PT
Dana Kaye, Lynn C. Willis President of SEMWA, and Carla Damron President of Palmetto Chapter SinC

What better way to beat the June heat than to spend the time in a lovely air-conditioned room listening to great authors talk about writing? Bring your beverage of choice and join us!