Entries by Sisters in Crime/LA

Capitol Crimes SinC Chapter Presents

Meet the Author with Bruce Borgos Tuesday, December 12, 2023 7:00pm Pacific On Dec 12 at 7 p.m. on Zoom, Penny Manson interviews Capitol Crimes member Bruce Borgos about his debut novel, The Bitter Past. The story follows Lincoln County, Nevada, Sheriff Porter Beck as he works to solve a gruesome murder that leads him […]

VCU Cabell First Novelist Award

The VCU Cabell First Novelist Award honors an outstanding debut novel published in the preceding calendar year. Symbolized by a three-dimensional compass, the award is a tribute to writers who have navigated their way through the maze of imagination and delivered a great read, taking the reader someplace new. Winning novelists have written books that […]

Six Word Wonder

Enter your absolute best six word (yes, 6 words) stories, memoirs, poems, and jokes, with the chance of winning $100, getting published, and being named the Six Word Wonder! Details: https://www.dougweller.net/contest

Queen’s Knickers Awards

For an outstanding children’s illustrated book. This annual prize, generously funded by Nicholas Allan, author of The Queen’s Knickers, is awarded to an outstanding children’s original illustrated book for ages 0-7. Details: https://www2.societyofauthors.org/prizes/the-soa-awards/queens-knickers-awards/

Best Mystery Stories of the Year 2024

Mysterious Bookshop’s Best Mystery Stories of the Year 2024 The world’s oldest mystery fiction specialty store, specializing in mystery fiction and all its subgenres – including Detective, Crime, Hardboiled, Thrillers, Espionage, and Suspense –publishes its own anthology each year. The deadline for this one is coming right up. Submission information here. Submission Deadline: December 31st, […]

Black Orchid Novella Award

The Black Orchid Novella Award is now open for submissions. Deadline is May 31, 2024. For details: http://www.nerowolfe.org/htm/literary_awards/black_orchid_award/Black_Orchid_award_proc.htm

Debut Dagger 2024

The Debut Dagger opens for entries on 1 October and runs to the last working day in February the following year. The international competition, open to anyone in the world writing in English, is for the opening of a crime novel (max. 3,000 words) and synopsis (max. 1,500 words). The crime novel – of any […]

Margery Allingham Short Story Competition

Every year since 2014, the CWA and the Margery Allingham Society have jointly held an international competition for a short story of up to 3,500 words. Their mission is to find the best unpublished short mystery, and not only that, but one which fits into Golden Age crime writer Margery Allingham’s definition of what makes […]