Boulevard Magazine is accepting submissions from November 1, 2023 to May 1, 2024.


The VCU Cabell First Novelist Award honors an outstanding debut novel published in the preceding calendar year. Symbolized by a three-dimensional compass, the award is a tribute to writers who have navigated their way through the maze of imagination and delivered a great read, taking the reader someplace new.

Winning novelists have written books that may be funny or sad, sarcastic or heartrending, but each is powerful enough in its own way to have moved initial readers and final judges toward the conclusion that, among a field of roughly a hundred submissions annually, its writer has achieved something notable and enduring.

Deadline: December 30, 2023


Enter your absolute best six word (yes, 6 words) stories, memoirs, poems, and jokes, with the chance of winning $100, getting published, and being named the Six Word Wonder!


For an outstanding children’s illustrated book.

This annual prize, generously funded by Nicholas Allan, author of The Queen’s Knickers, is awarded to an outstanding children’s original illustrated book for ages 0-7.


Mysterious Bookshop’s Best Mystery Stories of the Year 2024

The world’s oldest mystery fiction specialty store, specializing in mystery fiction and all its subgenres – including Detective, Crime, Hardboiled, Thrillers, Espionage, and Suspense –publishes its own anthology each year. The deadline for this one is coming right up. Submission information here.

Submission Deadline: December 31st, 2023

The Black Orchid Novella Award is now open for submissions. Deadline is May 31, 2024.

For details:

The Debut Dagger opens for entries on 1 October and runs to the last working day in February the following year.

The international competition, open to anyone in the world writing in English, is for the opening of a crime novel (max. 3,000 words) and synopsis (max. 1,500 words). The crime novel – of any subgenre; including but not limited to thriller, noir, cosy mystery, suspense, police procedural; spy story and crossover of any kind – should be suitable for adults or young adults.

Entries are eligible from writers who have never had a contract for a full-length novel of any kind and who don’t have an agent when the competition closes at the end of February. Entrants may not have self-published their entry, and must not have self-published any novel over 20,000 words in the five years preceding the deadline.

CWA members are not eligible to enter unless their publications (to the date the winner is announced) have been entirely non-fiction, or unless they are Emerging Author members and otherwise meet the eligibility rules.

For more details:

Every year since 2014, the CWA and the Margery Allingham Society have jointly held an international competition for a short story of up to 3,500 words.

Their mission is to find the best unpublished short mystery, and not only that, but one which fits into Golden Age crime writer Margery Allingham’s definition of what makes a great mystery story.

Entries are invited from all writers, published or unpublished, writing in English.

The deadline is February 29, 2024. For details:

Tadpole Press 100-Word Writing Contest is now accepting submissions through November 30, 2023.

The first-place prize has doubled to $2,000 USD. For details:

Submit the first line (or lines) of a scary story. For details: Deadline: Thursday, November 30, 2023, 11:59 pm Eastern Time